Who We Are

The West Central Local Integrating Organization (LIO) is one of nine LIOs created by the Puget Sound Partnership. The West Central LIO is composed of an Executive Committee and a Working Group.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee meets several times a year to assess the recommendations of the Working Group. Current members of the Executive Committee include:

  • Chairman Leonard Forsman, Chair (Suquamish Tribe)
  • Commissioner Charlotte Garrido, Vice Chair (Kitsap County)
  • Mayor Kol Medina (City of Bainbridge Island)
  • Mayor Greg Wheeler (City of Bremerton)
  • Mayor Kit Kuhn (City of Gig Harbor)
  • Council Member Derek Young (Pierce County)
  • Chairman Jeromy Sullivan (Port Gamble S’Klallam Tribe)
  • Mayor Rob Putaansuu (City of Port Orchard)
  • Mayor Becky Erickson (City of Poulsbo)
Select members of the Executive Committee and Working Group

Select members of the Executive Committee and Working Group

Working Group

The Working Group is divided into sub-groups that address the three priorities in the Puget Sound Partnership's regional plan to protect Puget Sound. Our three sub-groups focus on water quality for shellfish, stormwater and salmon habitat, respectively.

Shellfish Subgroup

Shellfish require excellent water quality in order to thrive and, in turn, be safe to sell and eat. However, on-site sewage systems, wastewater treatment plants, marinas, animal-keeping activities, and wildlife can all negatively impact water quality and potentially harm shellfish. The Shellfish Subgroup identifies short-term projects that address water quality for shellfish beds. This subgroup includes staff from the following:

  • TribesSuquamish Tribe 
  • Cities: City of Bremerton
  • CountiesPierce County
  • Districts: Kitsap Conservation District, Kitsap Public Health District
  • State AgenciesWashington Department of Health

Stormwater Subgroup

Stormwater, or polluted runoff, carries toxic chemicals, nutrients, sediment, and bacteria into Puget Sound. The Stormwater Subgroup prioritizes short-term projects that reduce the amount of untreated stormwater that enters and pollutes Puget Sound. This subgroup includes staff from the following:

  • Cities: City of Bainbridge Island, City of Bremerton, City of Poulsbo
  • Counties: Pierce Couty
  • Other: Kitsap Surface & Stormwater Management

Salmon Subgroup

The Salmon SubGroup is the West Sound Watersheds Council (WSWC), this region's lead entity for salmon recovery. According to the state's Salmon Recovery Act, WSWC is responsible for prioritizing projects for salmon habitat restoration in this area of Puget Sound. WSWC includes staff from the following:

  • Tribes: Squaxin Island Tribe, Suquamish Tribe
  • Cities: Bainbridge Island, Bremerton, Gig Harbor, Poulsbo, and Port Orchard
  • Counties: Kitsap County, Pierce County